Sea Fever

trapped seal

The subject this week for my writing group is to write a parody of a well know poem. Here is mine.

Sea Fever

[Apologies to John Masefield]

I must go down to the sea again, to the dirty sea and the sky,

And all I ask is a Greenpeace ship and a cause to sail her by;

And the oil slick and the dead fish and the oiled gulls drowning;

And a green scum on the sea’s face and a poisonous dawn breaking.

*

I must go down to the sea again to rescue the beached whales;

Most are covered in oily sludge so our futile rescue fails;

And all I ask is a clean-up plan and a white surf flying,

And a pure spray and dolphins leaping and bright gannets diving.

*

I must go down to the sea again and offer up a prayer

For the dolphins caught in plastic nets and seals gasping for air.

And all I ask is a global plan to honour life on earth;

To work together for a green vision and a glorious new birth.

6 comments on “Sea Fever

  1. There were a couple of problems with the rhyming that kind of distracted from the poem (prayer, air), but lovely nonetheless πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. If we must be picky, struggling and flying don’t quite work, although I think prayer and air are fine You could also take out the ‘all’ before beached whales.
    However, the whole poem is thoughtful and appropriate and I felt the passion in it.
    Masefield’s poem used to be read out loud in competitions and this would be ideal,too. as a contrast. One can feel the rhythm, like pounding surf.
    What a great idea. I’ll suggest it at our next writing group meeting.
    Thanks, Julie.

    Like

  3. Try as I might, I couldn’t get John Ireland’s setting of ‘Sea Fever’ out of my interior ear while I was first reading your parody! https://youtu.be/b4NUJRpxQbY It’s such a marvelous song.

    On second reading, I had to go into Meta-I to get the eco-references which I then appreciated. It all seemed well done to me.

    Try Jamie Dedes for a regular poetry prompt on Wednesdays – I just started posting to her WordPress site. You’ll find it in ‘Reader’! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

