70th Birthday Picnic

eric70picnic2 008

It has been a while since I’ve posted here due to my working on my book. You can just make out some of us playing French cricket in the background! I had about twenty guests – not a bad turn out for a semi-recluse! The weather was sunny on Sat 6 August and it was good to see everyone enjoying themselves. Friends came from my Yoga group and Writers’ group.

The poem is a bit of intentional semi-doggerel, if there is such a thing! (I was rather pleased with the rhyme for ‘cricket’- in the last stanza.)

 

Birthday Poem at 70.

The day dawned like any other day;

I’m still standing and not yet lame.

Seventy circuits of the earth around the sun,

I hope I’ll never need a Zimmer frame!

*

My daughter asks what’s it like to be seventy,

I reply no different to being sixty nine.

A friend writes keep the child within alive,

keep writing poetry and you’ll be fine.

*

Lets give thanks and salute the sun today,

play French cricket in Saltwell Park

eat chocolate, Barack Obama and samosas

before our journey into the dark.

*

If I live to be a hundred, I wouldn’t want a plastic heart

In all honesty I don’t think I could stick it;

I wouldn’t want Botox or any replacement part;

I’d just like to be able, still to play French Cricket!

*

Note: Barack Obama is what I called barm brack cake.

2 comments on “70th Birthday Picnic

  1. Khadiza says:

    Happy Birthday!

    I really hope you enjoyed your day! The cricket game must have been fun out in the sun; the outdoor party looks great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

