Self Portrait

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I painted this self portrait in 1966 when I was 20! At the time I liked Stanley Spencer’s self portrait with its full frontal stare! If you look closely at the right shoulder you should be able to see a fly. I added this in the year 2000 to try and suggest the transience of life- a kind of momento-mori!

This is my 100th blog.

As you can see, I’m still unearthing old paintings I still have. There may be more to post.

7 comments on “Self Portrait

  1. Khadiza says:

    Wow Erik Leo, this painting is incredible. You’re very talented indeed. Please post more of your paintings for us to see! I imagine all the memories of that particular moment in which you painted this picture rushes back to mind?

    Like

  2. erikleo says:

    Thanks Khadiza for you kind remarks. I’ll see what else I think worth posting. Funny to think you were a different person when you were 20, as I was when I painted this.

    Like

  3. Hello, there, one of my blogs is a collaborative project on self portraits:
    http://strataoftheself.wordpress.com
    I wonder if you would give me permission to share this there?
    Credit given and a link back to your blog. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hello, Erik, you are now posted on ‘strata of the self’:
    https://strataoftheself.wordpress.com/2015/11/02/erik-leo-self-portrait-1966/
    Thanks for joining in. 🙂

    Like

  5. sheldonk2014 says:

    I was just at Ashley blog had to come and check you out
    Love this self portrait
    As always Sheldon

    Like

Leave a Reply

