Top Twenty Non-Naturalistic Fiction

Having just read Dostoyevsky’s short story, Crocodile, I have to include it as one of the funniest (satirical-surreal!) stories I’ve ever read!

erikleo

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been trying to make a list of a kind of fiction which does not conform to ‘naturalistic narrative.’ What I’m thinking of isn’t merely what nowadays we call ‘magic realism’. To qualify for inclusion on the list the narrative has to either be dislocated in some way as in Vonnegut’s Galapagos or have ‘impossible’ events such as a talking cat as in Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore. Science fiction, Horror and Fantasy do not qualify for inclusion in the list. My personal Top Twenty only include books I’ve actually read. I’d like to include Joyce’s Ulysses but I’m afraid I’ve never read it. Lord of the Flies, although a kind of allegory, wouldn’t count as it is a straightforward narrative taking place in ‘real time.’ Folklore and, for example, Greek Mythology doesn’t count either!
The reason I thought this would be worth doing is that while I enjoy novels…

View original post 217 more words

5 comments on “Top Twenty Non-Naturalistic Fiction

  1. I think that Peter Weir’s ‘The Island’ falls into this category!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. erikleo says:

    Hi Colin, Yes, I must read it. I searched online and didnt get much joy but I’ll try again!

    Like

  3. I had a feeling you would enjoy Herman Hesse’s novels. I read The Glass Bead Game a long time ago and this year I read Steppenwolf. They both gave me a lot to think about. He’s very philosophical and I like his personal approach to exploring the “darkness” and “lightness” of humanity and life in general. I’ve also enjoyed a few books by Vonnegut and Murakami, but not the ones on your list. Maybe I’ll check them out some day. I like the way surreal stories shift reality so that I can get a sense of reality from a different perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • erikleo says:

      Hi Myriam
      As with a lot of authors I subsequently read, Colin Wilson’s The Outsider had me rushing to the library when I was 21 – for Herman Hesse. I think he was partly responsible for making Hesse popular in the sixties!
      At the moment I’m reading Cloud Atlas – another that wd fit my criteria!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t read The Outsider but a friend mentioned reading it a long time ago. I’m curious about how the author brings up Steppenwolf. Maybe I’ll check out Cloud Atlas in a couple years; too many other books to read!

        Like

Leave a Reply

